Health break

Even though I kept getting kicked off by the patchy connection, I joined a webinar relating to Transfrontier Conservation Areas (TFCAs) in the Southern Africa Development Community (SADC) region. Conservation loves an acronym.

I am still waiting for some contract information relating to the new role I’ve been offered, so I haven’t triggered anything. However on this webinar were people involved in my current role, and someone from the new organisation who knows I’m incoming. As he was presenting something he was asked a specific question about a gap my new role will fill, and I was paranoid he’d name drop me prematurely. I was being ridiculous of course, as people have more discretion than that. Overall, I was happy to hear him talk about the initiative I’ll be working on as it’s very interesting and feels like a good fit. I hope contract discussions don’t fail or that I chicken out of handing my notice in.

Changing organisations in the same regions and locations feels quite political. I’ll be glad when it’s announced although I’m not looking forward to breaking the news to project partners. My current organisation is poorly staffed in Mozambique so I don’t have ready answers for how the work will be handed over.

A period of downtime during today’s webinar was termed a ‘health break’. I’m finding this project visit a health break despite the long hours and the looming resignation. It’s just so good to be in the bush surrounded by barely any human noises. This river setting is very tranquil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.