LD 208 Kilmodan Kirkyard

This is my local kirk yard and when I was driving past this morning I was struck by the flame red of the maple down on the edge by the river.   I stopped on my way back to try and get a picture with the white church in it but the angles were hard - one of the rare occasions I have regretted not having a drone !

This was about my last shot when leaving and it gives both the space and solemnity of the spot, as well as featuring that tree.   Over to my left was the new extension where I recognised many of the names on the headstones , it being 28 years since we came to live in this community.   One was the man from whom we bought Feorlean, Archie McNaughton, who was a fine neighbour and whose funeral here back in 2000 was massively attended.   I wrote a piece about it in the  culture column I contributed each week to the Herald at that time, and you can find it at  this link. 

The small white building is where the Kilmodan Stones are kept.   They are in the care of Historic Scotland and are worth a look given their intricate carving.   My first extra photo gives a flavour of them, though there is no interpretation to hand on site, which is a pity.    My second is Archie's head stone. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.