It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Perez!

I'm glad it's Saturday. It's been a rough week mentally. Long story.....but I get over stuff relatively quickly. Emotional intelligence I think they call it, although I can be an emotional idiot at times too. Not such a bad thing.

On a positive note, it was great to do a wee bit of a longer cycle after work in daylight yesterday. My cyclo-cross bike hasn't got great brakes for traffic or hill riding so I can't go crazy on it. Reaching Stalybridge, I decided to hit the long climb reasonably hard though and was delighted to do it in under 10 minutes. I only did that once last year and that was on my good bike.

This morning I woke up at silly o'clock. Something to do with falling asleep before 8pm last night I think. Off I set for swimming at Moss Side. Another positive that I led my lane easily for the whole session. In fact, I felt ready to move up to a faster lane....maybe on Tuesday. 3.5km session in total.
Then I pedalled over to the Aquatics Centre to meet Oli' who had been swimming there. After a quick flapjack and ginger beer we headed off to Manchester Central where there was a triathlon and bike show on. There were some nice bikes, but most come out of the similar factories in the far east these days so no wow moments. I liked the Sailfish wetsuits but £400 for a bit neoprene is quite excessive. I didn't bait any of the sales people at the show, which makes a change for me....I do enjoy using my built-in bullshittometer to evaluate their answers to my difficult questions but I couldn't be bothered today.

We then headed to NTP for a coffee, which was awesome as ever. Wayne always manages perfect coffee even on a mobbed Saturday. We then headed back towards where Oli' had parked the car....I was bursting on a wee though so we popped into Manchester Art Gallery where we wasted another 45mins. I love that place.

It was nearly 3pm when I got home and I was famished! Thankfully, I had purchased some veggie black pudding so stuffed my face with 2 massive butties (organic sour-dough ones). I then washed my Brompton and cross bike as both were filthy, getting my good bike ready for a ride tomorrow. Just enough daylight to do a 3km run, my first one over 10 mins in 3 weeks after my calf injury. No pain so well happy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.