It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Training

Life is so much better when it's sunny. I woke at 7am but decided I didn't fancy getting up for a group ride with the tri club. It's over 20km to the start point and never a fun ride home. Rather, I watched a programme about the 1988 Seoul Olympics and most specifically the 100m. What jumped out was that Ben Johnson was a nice guy, not the devil incarnate that the media had made him out to be. Carl Lewis and his smarmy Santa Monica coach seemed like less nice human beings, regardless of who doped and who didn't.

I then popped on the Pavoni and overdosed on the previously prohibited substance, caffeine. Fortunately, it was the rather fine Has Bean Deerhunter made for NTP. I was ready to go, giving my good bike it's first run of the year, carbon wheels and all. On the 1st hill the gears played up as I hadn't adjusted them for a 'race' cassette. A quick stop, 3 presses of a button and indexing sorted.

The afore mentioned gearing is not best suited to the Peak District and as it's top of the range stuff I am at pains to change it. Grinding up the hills, rather than spinning was the result. As soon as I got home, after 55km and 1500m of climbing, I put the trainers on and went out for a run. It was horrible, jelly legs, dizzy and feeling sick I managed to do 3.5km. I wish it was flat somewhere!

I love training. Especially in sunny weather, in the countryside. I don't necessarily noticed much and sometimes it's pure sufferation. On Chunal for example, it starts off at 20% gradient and doesn't go much below 10%. The legs burn, hyperventilation kicks in and it's too steep for me to take it easier. I love that hill. I love riding my bike, running, swimming as it keeps my world on a precarious fulcrum.

After a soak in the bath and a wee dose (a sleep, rather than a sexually transmitted disease) I headed off to Manchester for my Sunday swim. My heart wasn't in it. I just toddled along, trying to stay relaxed and forget that I was dog tired. It worked as my pace was normal. I did get out of the water 20 mins early though.

Glad to be in bed. Have a happy week y'all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.