Floating Pattern

Often I find that looking through the viewfinder really helps to get engaged with my photography. Unless I find something immediately appealing, I can be scratching my head for a subject. But bringing the camera to my eye really helps to isolate and frame the scene. Particularly so when using a telephoto because a smaller or distant subject might otherwise not stand out as a candidate.

So it was as I walked along the bank and found this grouping of leaves and algae floating on the water surface. Although the sky was blue with puffy white clouds, it was late in the day and I was mainly in shade, which made the water very dark. It was just a case of finding a suitable arrangement that made an interesting pattern.

Even then, a strong wind moved the water and my carefully chosen pattern kept shifting. Shutter speeds were already slow, so timing became important.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.