Chiselled Water

I heard the wind pick up before I saw the water surface burst into life with a thousand tiny ripples. As the air speed and direction rapidly changed so did the movement and pattern.

I began to experiment and it became a challenge to adjust the shutter speed and/or anticipate what might happen next. I also noticed it began to spit with rain making circles intersecting the prevailing current. Trees opposite cast dark lines which also impacted the image. But only when I pressed the shutter could I see the effect at that instant.

I like this frame which shows the water in a state of bas-relief as if chiselled and with dark contour lines on top. I would find it hard to replicate because I don't know quite how it came about.

Walking back the distant sky lit up under dark clouds (extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.