Plus ça change...

By SooB

Sundowner

Aperol is a drink I associate with our annual Girls weekend away, always ably made by S. Mr B has taken to making them this summer and, with fizzy water instead of Prosecco, it’s a low-alcohol treat. Or so I thought. Turns out the reason they taste “so good” is the shot of Mandarin vodka.... Tricksy, these cocktails.

Today it is a post-Sunday barbecue sundowner, while we wait for TallGirl’s busy social whirl to permit a call.

Committee annual meeting this morning. Normally (of late anyway) a tense affair because of the unpleasant neighbours, but they didn’t show up so it was a friendly discussion instead. I made cookies, which generally helps.

Lunch, and some gentle afternoon compost spreading and hoeing. My family still snigger whenever I refer to my Dutch hoe, but it has improved the quality of my life, and the neatness of the brassica beds, no end. Later, picking beans, rasps and rocket.

Best sleep for ages last night. I think gardening is the key.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.