fototherapy

By GirlKojak

But not for me ...

Valentine's Day is just a capitalist scam, designed to make people currently in a relationship spend unnecessary money in a fruitless attempt to ensure undying love and devotion. For those of us not in a relationship, Valentine's Day is simply added pressure to identify ourselves within the context of a romantic relationship, whipping us into a frenzy that only the presence of our soul mates can relieve.
(Heather Hepler, Love? Maybe)

The thing about Valentine's day is that people discover who are single and who to feel jealous of.
(Faye Morgan)

God is love. Love is not God.
(Mark Driscoll)


KaliBug's February Challenge: 14) Something to do with Love

I should have been more creative and blipped something to show that love isn't just about hearts and romance. Unfortunately my tired state has rather limited my creativity. I'm not a fan of Valentine's Day. The quotes just about sum up my feelings about it. It is like it has become a big competition to prove how much you love someone by the amount of pointless trash you buy them on this one day.

I once watched a documentary about the Samaritans and I'm sure it said that there are more suicides on 14th February than any other day of the year. I tried looking up the statistics, but there are probably as many websites that say this is an urban myth as those that state it as truth. But there is little doubt that the Samaritans believe there to be a connection between Valentine's Day and feeling lonely, and between loneliness and suicide.

I personally always want to go into hiding for the day, but the build-up seems to get longer and longer. I'd like to think that I don't only hate it because I'm bitter, but unfortunately I can't put that one to the test! ;-) I don't wish to take anything away from those who are in love; I think love is wonderful! But I would make a plea to everyone to be sensitive to all us singles, and also to think about how to demonstrate your love for each other daily not yearly, and in more significant ways!

But not for me

Playlist NOT for Valentine's Day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.