DIY Bird feeder

I had an early trip to the allotment to make a start on clearing as quite a few things have now died back.  I noticed my big sunflowers have finished and the birds are taking the seeds.  I put a pole under the head to hold it up to make it easier for the birds.  It would have been lovely to see some birds on it feeding, but I am sure they all arrived as soon as I left.
 
I have grown some winter lettuce from seed and put one lot in last week.  It seems the slugs rather liked them.  I had some more, so have put them in and will see how they do.  I found a pile of garlic bulbs which I had left on a pathway and they have now started to grow roots.  I cleared an area and planed out about 12 bulbs so should be okay for garlic next year – assuming they grow okay.

This afternoon we went to a small garden centre to have coffee and cake and got a few bits.  I then did a bit of work on the grass in the back garden.  Our hope is that this year we will still have some grass in the spring time.  We will have to wait and see!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.