Photos from A Field

By RandallFriesen

Well that was interesting

Well, that was quite a day.

They have set up court in a local university theatre, to allow for Covid restrictions re space etc.

We waited outside in a long line in the wind and cold. (Some weren’t dressed for outside) And finally we all were processed through security and directed to our seats where we waited 90 minutes.

There were many instructions and lists of what would disqualify you from participation. I didn’t meet any of them so I expected to be there for the time.

Then they announced that it was a Sexual Assault case which would take the whole week. They said if you’ve been assaulted or have worked with assault victims, you are disqualified from serving.

There it was, I wasn’t even eligible to serve in such a case. I’ve worked with victims in the past and still am. I’ve been to court with them before to face their abusers. I was out.

I think I alluded to that in yesterday’s post. I’m not altogether sure how unbiased I would be in such a case. So they agreed with that sense of things.

In any case, it was an interesting experience for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.