Wet (Day 1992)

An early trip to town to collect stuff for the job today, then back through to Stromness to get on with the shower room. The customer had told me to collect the sheets of wet wall from his parents' place.  When I arrived, I stood around in the rain for a while, banging on the door occasionally, before someone finally woke up and came to the door. As I loaded up the wet wall, there was a frantic and fruitless search for a key to the flat. The customer had managed to take his spare key to Kirkwall with him. I waited in the van outside his flat while he drove back from Kirkwall. So much for the early start today.
Before I could start fitting the wet wall, the wash basin had to be removed, then there was the long process of measuring and checking and more measuring. When I was sure of my measurements, I zoomed off to S&A's shed to cut the sheets. Really nice to be able to do the cutting inside, and even better to have such a HUGE area to work in (extra). Normally, if I am inside, there isn't really enough room, and it makes the whole job awkward. Not today though.
Back at the job, the sheets went on reasonably well, despite being fairly warped. There wasn't much more I could do on the job, so I headed home for a late lunch and a catch up with my beautiful wife before she zoomed off to work. 
I cleared out the van, then headed to town to collect a pallet of pellets for the boiler. When I had finished unloading them at home, I loaded the woofers into the truck and we made our way to Happy Valley so I could take some pictures of the swollen burn. It seems to have been raining for days. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.