One more Ariki sunset

Thank you to all who have continued to visit my journal, all the while I have been preoccupied and tired, and have rarely reciprocated. The discipline of daily posting a photograph, combined with the added discipline of doing my best to walk, jog (or at worst cycle to and from work), and while doing so take a photo, which generally ends up being my blip, affords a sense of control when so much else challenges any such sense. 

And thank you also who have responded with such kindness when I have been venting some of my frustrations. Its not all bad, and there are times like having listened to someone with a complex presentation, suggested that bipolar disorder is a better diagnosis for her than those she has struggled with, explained the benefits and risks of lithium, and eight days late have a patient who is 75% recovered and has told nursing staff she loves lithium. The frustrations are more than balanced by being able to help someone in that way.

This week I begin to have Friday off once a fortnight. Friday of the week I took as sick leave was meant to be the first free Friday (which in a way it was), but I've only just had confirmation of the change in my contract.

Today I left work earlier than usual so as to meet S at daughter C's home in Swanson. Her dog greeted me with a mix of tail wag and sharp barking but for the first time seemed really keen to make friends. After a pause, S and I wen to look at a house in the foothills of the Waitakere Range. Lots to commend it and unfortunately lots also that needs to be changed. And like everyone who is selling at the moment, the vendor expects more than feels right. I think we're still looking.

Got back to the apartment before sunset, and saw the sun go below the horizon, following which these beautiful colours developed. I've belatedly added as an extra, a photograph of the Memorial Wall, on which Paul Walsh paints portraits of chosen (by him) recently deceased musicians. This one seems partly completed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.