Here there and everywhere

By digitaldaze

Chicken and Mushroom Pie

Yes, another food blip.  It's getting desperate!   

My brother busboy mentioned in our last phone call that his partner D had made this pie from the Jamie Oliver 30 Minutes Dinners that I had given them in August as a birthday pressie.  Just so happened I was looking for something to do with the leftover chicken from yesterday (instead of just our usual cold chicken and the leftover roasted veg) so had a quick Google, nipped out to buy mascarpone (difficult to get creme fraiche here) and mushrooms and voila!   It has to be said that it smelled good, looked ok, the chicken mixture was delicious, but the pastry let it down.  It was shop bought and I think was the wrong kind.  Next time I'll try the 'hojaldre', which I hope is closer to puff pastry than what I used.  Of course I can't check what I used as the wrapping had already been thrown out!  Yes, I could make the pastry, but it's not that desperate.....yet! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.