CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A flash of blue

I stopped at Sellars Bridge to take a short walk after buying fresh tofu in Gloucester this afternoon. I was taking a long route home so I could pick up some fresh organic milk from 'Jess' Ladies' farm near Longney.

Sellars Bridge is a swing bridge over the Gloucester to Sharpness canal, which links the inland port and the waterway network with the Bristol Channel. I've visited several times before as it is the size of a river and has a lot of wildlife, despite being on the edge of the city.

As I strolled along the towpath in steady rain I thought of having seen kingfishers here, but didn't expect to be so lucky today. Then I spotted a flash of that classic blue as one flew past me and away downstream at speed.

I watched where it appeared to land and walked slowly back towards it. It only took a few minutes before it re-appeared flying back towards me, and then landed in some shrubs on the far bank where there was no path. 

I was delighted and had a broad smile as I stood watching and waiting further. Before I left I had another chance to see it hopping between bushes and trees. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.