CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

On the Cranham Woods escarpment

It was time to stock up on fresh local vegetables at the farm shop near Bisley. Having chatted with Sally D. who was running the shop today I saw Ashley who wanted some particular pictures showing off Bisley village's features, such as the church and the Seven Wells. Food for thought, another day and another lens.

As the weather was bright and autumn has begun I drove on beyond Bisley towards Birdlip where I hoped to check on the ancient beech woods. I will return to record some new views of the old trees and the autumn general colours.

I saw th trees in Buckholt Woods are still resolutely green and none have fallen to create the usual orangey brown carpet. I turned around and took the old drove road past Cranham Woods which run southwards towards Sheepscombe and Painswick.

I parked on the other side of the road where the escarpment falls steeply away towards the west. Within a few yards I spotted this old quarry where there were still a few limestone rock faces left. The path leading away to the right across and down the slope must go in the direction of Coopers Hill, famous for being the location of the famous Cheese Rolling competitions. They are held on even steeper slopes where the woodland has been felled.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.