CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

My orchid's first new flower

I've been looking after this orchid for about a year. It stopped flowering some time ago and went dormant. I repotted it with the recommended fresh bark and then on Sunday I fed it whilst watering it.  It has had a new shoot with buds on it for about two months as well as having grown new bright green roots.

I was dressing quickly this morning, as I had to drive Helena to her work at about 8-15am, when I suddenly noticed that the first orchid flower had opened. I even called out to Helena to let her know.

Laster in the day I brought my camera upstairs and changed lens. The light was quite poor despite being near the rear south facing window, b ut there were only grey clouds outside. I'll have to observe it carefully and hope that the other buds all manage to form proper flowers.

Ever since seeing the wonderful collection of orchids in the national botanical gardens of Sri Lanka I have come to admire and like orchids more and more. I can't remember where I bought this plant, probably in Aldi, but it is the first time I have managed to keep and nurture an orchid which then goes on to flower once again. I may get some more now to give them company!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.