CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Medlars and quinces

Camilla picked two of her quince fruits for me a few days ago and encouraged me to make jelly with them. I haven't managed it yet but thought I'd quickly photograph them for the record. I took them out to the patio table and as I placed them there It occurred to me to add some of my medlar fruits to make a still life.

I walked down the garden and found very few medlars on the tree, and they were all quite small. Most of the leaves had already fallen and I think some of the fruits may have been eaten on the tree, probably by deer. Last year's crop number was at least three times as big.

I rather rushed the photography as the light was going. It made me think I should use my tripod more to get sharp images in low light, and maybe even add a bit of artificial light on occasions. We shall see as autumn progresses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.