Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Autumn sunshine

We had a Zoom call with our pal Sue in NZ this morning at 9am. That seems quite early for us these days, now that JR is not up and out to the gym. Sue had exciting news, too, regarding her plans for next year. Actually two years ago we were on holiday in Provence with her.

It was a lovely sunny morning, so we set off for a walk, hoping to see autumn leaves. Which we did, lots. First stop, of course, was Kauai for a coffee, outside, ordered on my phone.

An older chap (ie not one of the trendy young things serving) came and chatted. He was impressed that I used my phone to order. He must be one of the owners/managers, for he told us they were trying to get a brilliant but under-used council premises much nearer to us. How cool would that be!

We walked on through town, Archie scouring the pavements on his never-ending search for pieces of bread, or maybe, with luck, a bit of sausage roll. He was successful a couple of times, though JR is pretty determined to prise everything from his little clamped jaws.

We came to the gardens - I love this view from the steps, I’ve done it many times, but it’s still worth it. (spot JR and Archie).

We met again the lovely cat (Extra) who thinks he’s a dog and goes a walk every day. He is (was) a therapy cat, but not now, so he likes to meet people in the park. Fortunately, Archie’s eyebrows meant he didn’t see it.

The fountain was looking splendid as always. By this time, it had become quite HOT, and JR regretted wearing her jacket. We sat in the sun for a while, watching the folk enjoying the fountain. The outdoor cafe was doing great business.

We walked up Lothian Road this time, as I wanted to go back to the bike shop to buy another cheap reasonably priced helmet. They didn’t have them any more, but no worries, I’m getting one in Halfords.

Oh look! There’s my bus stop. By this time, I was quite tired, so I hopped on a bus to get home, while the others had a run in the Links.

Here’s another idea to solve my unfortunate habit of falling off when on two wheels...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.