Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Muffins?

OK. This was yesterday’s shot. It is much better than today’s shot of my disaster muffins. I don’t know what went wrong - I followed all the instructions. But the mixture was really sloppy, and it said it should be ‘sticky’. A better baker more sensible person than I would have added more flour, as indeed, per the instructions. But no. I slopped them into the muffin cases. The mixture tasted fine. When I took them out, they were crispy on the top, gooey in the middle, with all the blueberries sunk to the bottom, requiring a teaspoon. Not an unpleasant combination.

I ate five of them while I fiddled around in the kitchen in the morning, but managed to leave a couple for JR in the afternoon. By this time they were cold and quite edible, she said, kindly. She had two with her coffee. And she didn’t need the teaspoon.

The trike, in its box, has been sitting in the hallway for a few days. It left us today. 

Goodbye trike - it wasn’t about you, it was about me.

A wee squirrel comes along our wall most days, right to the end and peers in our window. We leave nuts there from time to time. JR was quick enough to get this excellent shot. (Extra)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.