PaulaJ

By PaulaJ

Leisurely looking out on the water

Russell is a sedate sort of place, with some beautiful old buildings. It seems to retain a quiet ambiance, despite the number of gift shops and cafes, catering for the influx of visitors in the summer months.

It was not always the case. Once it was known as the 'Hellhole of the Pacific'! However, as the Rough Guide says, 'those coming to Russell for debauchery will be sadly disappointed: they've missed the orgies on the beach by 170 years!'

I will tell that story tomorrow!

Today was a leisurely day spent in our house, around the town and across the water for a brief visit to Paihia. Whilst sitting by the waterfront this morning, I watched this young Black-backed Gull being harassed by his elders. A few minutes later he got his own back by catching this Flounder and wandering off with it. A fraction of a second later, the other birds gave chase and he flew off with his prize. I do hope he got away with it and I do hope the fish was dead by then - I'm sure I can see a look of bewilderment in its eye!

Of course, I could have blipped a lovely view of Russell, but I liked my enterprising young gull better. I have added a view of Russell to my folio. It was taken from across the water in Paihia.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.