Jen_Elliot

By Jen_Elliot

Gloves My Mammy Knitted Me

My daughter was using my cycling gloves to keep her hands warm at athletics. She, her dad and brother are away on hols in Ardnamurchan. I did ask her to leave out my gloves and indeed, they may be in her bag or her room but I came across these wee beauties which mum knitted last year.

Mum always has a knitting project on the go. I joke with her that the devil will find use for idle hands if she's not knitting. It's getting harder for her as she lost feeling in her hands and feet following chemo therapy for bowel cancer over a decade ago.

I visit my parents on a Wed, at least I did before the pandemic. On one of those days, mum insisted I choose some wool and something to be knitted. I was a bit 'I don't need anything, Mum' but chose these gloves and a snood scarf. She duly battered them out.

I think I got them in spring and had put them in the hat, scarf, glove bag in the cupboard under our stairs. I confess, I'd forgotten them but when I went to look for alternative gloves for my cycle rides, there they were - fingerless mittens, just ideal, a fab pink too and knitted by my Mammy.

Love the flecks of gold the leaves are creating.

I am wearing them now, having a cup of tea in a cafe between jobs - ideal for hand-warming but also typing on a mobile phone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.