Day 1

So far, so good. 

I managed two wee achievements today. First, I applied to Air France for a refund on the flights to Tunis I should have been on today. I am a bit sad about it. It takes me back to March when I should have gone, and when life was so much better. It also reminded me of all the planning which went into it. 

The other positive thing was to book a few nights away next week. There will be no desert or date palms, however. Probably not much sunshine or daylight either. 

Denmark went back onto the UK’s green list this week. Out of curiosity I checked how the Danes feel about Brits traveling there. Forget it. We are on their banned list.   

I went out for Friday lunch for the first time in a few weeks. It was excellent, as usual. I forgot to Blip it of course, because I was enjoying it so much. Anyway, going out for lunch seemed like another good way to start a holiday. 

All day I have felt worn out - not particularly tired - just very weary. I suspect the ever present danger from the virus, all the precautions we take to try to stay safe, and all the uncertainties we now live with, creates a certain stress which is quite low level most of the time, but constant. 

The events of the end of December, and the dark days to come before then, are starting to fill me with dread. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.