ORCHID

Was woken up this morning by the phone ringing.  It was the receptionist at the Health Centre to tell me I needed to make a telephone appointment with a doctor to discuss my blood pressure results.  She asked me which doctor I wanted to call me.  I told her my choice but the first telephone appointment with that doctor was 24th November.  Too long to wait I thought.  So I took the first available appointment with any doctor -  that will be on Monday 30th October.

Someone from the Special School called this morning to pick up the Lego, Playmobil and other toys.  I'm glad they are going somewhere where they will be appreciated.

I popped down to the village this afternoon.  Usual shops.  Neither was busy.

Neil and Rachael called to pick me up around 6.15pm and we went to Deanos Trattoria in the village. The proper safety precautions were in place and the tables had plenty of room between them.   I chose salmon and prawn pizza.  Its years since I have had a pizza but tonight I just fancied one and I'm glad I did as it was very nice.  For pud I had Biscoff Cheesecake which was delicious.  The place was fairly busy at first with small family groups/couples but later on there were a lot of empty tables.   Before Covid Deanos was the kind of place where a large group of family or friends would go for a birthday or family occasion and obviously at the moment this can't happen so they need to rely on couples or other small household groups.  But it seems that this isn't enough to fill the place - even with reduced capacity,.

For Flower Friday I have blipped one of the flowers on the orchid plant I bought on 2nd October - reduced in price at Tesco.  Its going strong and at the moment there are 13 flowers in bloom. Thanks to BikerBearfor hosting Flower Friday.

Musical link - I Overlooked an ORCHID - by  Mickey Gilley

Steps today - 8,328

CORONA CLASSIC - The Platters - Orchids in the Moonlight

Another for Black History Month.   The Platters are an American vocal group formed in 1952. They are one of the most successful vocal groups of the early rock and roll era. The act has gone through several personnel changes, with one of the most successful incarnations comprising lead tenor Tony Williams, David Lynch, Paul Robi, Herb Reed, and Zola Taylor. The group had 40 charting singles on the Billboard Hot 100 chart between 1955 and 1967, including four number-one hits. They are one of the first African-American groups to be accepted as a major chart group and are one of the most successful vocal groups in the world.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.