Murphy's Lore

By stevemurphy

This is what ...

... Sunday mornings are for !

Up and out on the hills before the sun came up this morning. Wrapped up with a couple of extra layers, hot coffee in a flask, camera around my neck and a clear sky telling me it would be a good morning for taking some photos - this is a perfect Sunday morning for me.

Ivinghoe Beacon at the northern end of the Ridgeway Path is about as close to hills as we get around here. You'll quite often see me up there on a Sunday morning with Ollie - my best mate (bit of a shame he doesn't drink beer) - he's a cross between a Border Collie and a Springer Spaniel - he's a bit of a pretty boy - always being mistaken for a girl.

It was a lovely walk this morning - I got to the Beacon just as the sun was coming up - I took a few potential blips of the trig point but nothing came of them. I then walked down to Gallows Hill expecting to get some good shots back up the hill with the sun on its' south side but not even lying on the ground (in the frost) produced anything of any worth but I am quite happy with this shot. I'm beginning to learn the benefits of fences out in the field - not only do they keep some scary bulls at bay - they also act as great *leaders* in to shots and are great for composition.

I'm sure there will be more blips from Ivinghoe and the surrounding hills and villages - it's a beautifully peaceful place for a Sunday morning walk.

Looking forward to seeing everybody else's blips for today - hope you've had the sun on your backs !

Steve

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.