Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Keeping an eye on things

Gavin, Xena and I enjoyed a muddy +6km run through the woods this morning - it is not a great distance, too short for Gavin but enough for me so that my ITB does not flare up again. I am not sure for how much longer we can do these runs in this part of the woods as it is getting very muddy now and therefore a bit slippery too. Xena loves it, she is off lead and runs ahead and then runs back to check on us as we are so much slower than her!

We went in to the village for some coffee and by now it was dull and raining. Gavin did take me to that avenue of colour, the autumn trees lining both sides of the road, that I mentioned the other day, and he agreed it is impossible to get a photo of it other than through the windscreen. So as he was driving I did that, but with the rain and the poor lighting the images were not good.

We took Xena for another walk on the heath later in the afternoon but it was raining and dull, again I took some photos but did not like any of them so my blip is of Xena staring intently out the window at the squirrels in the oak tree outside - they drive her nuts!

Tomorrow the clocks go back, the most miserable time of the year for us in the northern hemisphere as now the sun sets so much earlier and we have much shorter days. I often took Xena for an additional walk at 6pm but now I will now have to do that much earlier.

Wales went into lockdown again today, some of their rules seem quite ridiculous to me. All the cities with universities seem to have high cases of Covid which is to be expected and surely this means that herd immunity is building up amongst the younger generation? They do not seem that bothered by getting the virus - Tommy says 25 in his college are self isolating with the virus at the moment - if he gets it I hope it will be before he comes home for Christmas. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.