THE MAGIC MOUNTAIN

..by Thomas Mann, a gift from my good friend CarolinaV. The story takes place in a tuberculosis sanatorium in the mountains of Davos, Switzerland. This book is widely considered to be the one of the most influential works of the twentieth-century German literature.

I found an old photo from a vacation with my parents in 1953 to Lake Geneva. Not far from there is the mountain village of Leysin, it has an international reputation as a place for the cure of tuberculosis. We visited a good friend of my parents, who was there for TB and was cured eventually. In the photo is our friend to the right resting on her balcony comfortably. To the left is my mom and me... the little girl with braids was another visitor, who spoke French and we tried to play games together

Today is a grey overcast day with sprinkles, what a great day to tackle this German book of 1001 pages and sit back, relax and read. I am at page 255.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.