Bags Packed Again

I’m operating on the same theory as the one that says if you remember to carry an umbrella, it won’t rain. It’s going to be a long night. I don’t think there will be a lot of sleeping!

There is a high wind event tonight so the power company is turning off our power in about an hour. What part of turning of people’s power to prevent their equipment from sparking fires makes sense. Especially since the power runs the well pump and in case of fire there is no water! (Unless they take it out of the neighbor’s swimming pool with another neighbors’ fire hose!

I talked to my neighbor across the street this morning and he said they have given up on AT&T and are switching to Comcast. I said we had Comcast when we moved here and we’re unimpressed and he said they did too. Those seem to be our only choices, and we know that Comcast is functional on our street so at this point it’s the best of two bad choices....

I worked on the surviving part of the garden tidying and cutting back. It’s a little early to cut down the Cana lilies but they were starting to sprout again so I cut down all the old growth. A lot of plants that should be starting to go dormant for the winter are actually put out new growth. It’s good

mindless work but there’s now a huge pile of cuttings to take to the green can

Dana and Jim’s power shutoff was just canceled so we‘re going there for dinner.
I’ve filled the bathtub with water, filled all the water bowls and the bird bath and attempted to keep myself from cursing the well pump people and the inverter who are blaming each other for the fact that the whole system turns off when the well pump turns on...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.