Another pile of books

This is the short list for the Booker Prize. The Award Ceremony has been postponed and the date changed several times, but it is at last imminent - 19th November.

Because of the shortlist itself, which no one I know is very impressed with and because of the delays, a lot of interest in the award has waned. In an effort to enthuse readers again, there are lots of events planned over the next few weeks, including discussions about the books on Radio 4’s Front Row, starting tonight at 7.15. 

I am not going to say much about the books. I have read four of them and, although I have enjoyed reading them, none has really blown me away. The one of the four I think is the best is ‘Shuggie Bain’, an interesting and accomplished book. I am not going to recommend it, as the subject matter of a boy growing up in the slums of Glasgow in the 50s with an alcoholic mother is not everyone’s cup of tea. However, I did not think I would like it, but I did - it is grim reading, but it is also funny, joyful and full of human spirit. 

I would choose ’Shuggie Bain’ to win, but it is more likely to be ‘This Mournful Body’, which I have not read. I will be interested in the discussions around these books. 

Last night we had a Zoom family meeting. It was good to see everyone, but I just wonder when we are actually going to meet up again. We can't even plan for Christmas. Our daughter is exhausted after the worst term in school she has ever had and is concerned about the number of covid cases in the girls' schools. It's all very worrying. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.