Mostly unfocused, MM353, Straw Flower, Pond

I haven’t been around to the allotment to check if the brassica cage is still standing. I hope it is, as many of you have said it’s a poor design. However, I suspect the squalls we had on Saturday night would have played havoc with many a cage.

Back to today. A visit to the tip this morning with a carful of rubbish from our garage and from Doreen’s. The tip was well organised and very safe. The staff were very helpful in pointing out the correct place for the great diversity of stuff in my boot.

We were able to go for a walk as Doreen’s medical appointment was eventually cancelled as quite by chance we found she’d been visited by a district nurse this morning. Took Susan a while to get to the bottom of the story.

While Susan was up at Doreen’s cooking dinner and a myriad of other tasks I was cooking dinner here, preparing and cooking chestnuts and finishing off a big vat of apple chutney.

Does anyone know a foolproof way of cooking and shelling chestnuts? I’ve cut crosses in the shells, roasted for about 1/2 hour, let them cool a little and then try to get the meat out of the shell. My that is a task - unless you know differently?

Today’s blip is my contribution to MonoMonday, hosted by 60plus. Thank you. The theme is “unfocused”. This might just qualify being most of it is unfocused except for the sharply focused straw flower - one of the last of the flowers Susan grew from seed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.