Tuesday's painting...

...Fbg 6.5

My painting for today.
Art Kure brush pens and Chinese paper.
And some white powdered Chinese paint which I have had since forever and not used yet.

You can see where I sprinkled the white powdered paint, and it took even over vey dark colours.
At the bottom I took apart the white Kure brush pen and sprinkled some white. It was meant to be a pond. Didn't work. So it became a path.

In my head this was all meant to lead into a golden yellow meadow, and there was going to be a stile in between the trees to lead to it. It didn't work. That was my vision for this painting. But it didn't happen, it evolved differently. The paint does its own thing. It usually does with me. If I paint the picture I set out to paint, it is usually boring, competent but boring.

So this painting did its own thing...

I was going to add something to this painting this morning, but it wasn't right to use the brush pens again. The paper was dry by now, but to use the brush pen would have been to impose something the painting didn't want. So I made a coffee, had a bowl of cereal with chia seeds in. And I knew what I wanted.

I took a photo of the painting. And put it into Procreate. I wanted a rainbow in the middle. That middle bit was different, almost a globe of different effects. I knew I wanted something between the two trees, and it wasn't a white light I wanted, because that would have painted out that globe between the trees. I wanted to keep the painting as the Art Kure brush pens had reacted to the sprayed water on the Chinese paper. So, using layers in Procreate, I did this rainbow, then I realised I would like it as a circle.

So now this painting is called "Hope"
This is personal to me.
The last time I did a painting called "Hope", it was for the same person over a decade ago. I painted a daffodil tied with string on to a tree branch. That painting worked its magic...no one has ever seen it...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.