New Growth

I took a walk around the garden today and was so pleased to see signs of new growth all over. This is on the bottlebrush, part of the ‘brown wall’ outside the living room windows. We think the heat from the fire fried the leaves but we’re hoping it didn’t kill the plants.

The Merry Maids (two of the four are not ‘Maids’...one is clearly a guy and the other is of indeterminate gender) are cleaning the inside of the house today. I’m sitting on the porch enjoying the smell of lemon oil wafting from the house.

A car full of people drove up the driveway next door, piled out of the car and proceeded to shout at each other, make jokes and laugh. I assume they are adjusters, but I must say I’m just a bit offended by their jollity. (Is that a word?) it seems to me that a bit of respect is in order, even though our neighbor isn’t there.

Two of three sides of the deer fence are finished and they have done a beautiful job. It’s not been an easy one. Everything has to be carried either up or down depending on if they park in the driveway or the field. The post holes go into rock and clay...they had to use a jack hammer.

We’re still trying to figure out what to do with the ‘white wall’ which is still standing but badly damaged and the section of fence by our bedroom. One thing that’s fun to talk about (at least for me).

John will have to take on AT&T tomorrow....tell them we are switching to Comcast and we are NOT paying for nonexistent phone and internet services. They are claiming we still have to pay because we didn’t suspend service.

We didn’t have to...they did it for us. And never told us it would be until February!

I will probably have to call our adjuster in Las Vegas and find out when they are going send us money, but I think I’ll enjoy the relative peace for at least one more day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.