Calm start

I had planned a really chilled day which started very calmly down feeding the hens who are always very welcoming early morning, mostly because I bring food!
Barry was off for the day visiting his elderly parents to help with a new cooker being delivered. My plan was to spend the day sewing, now I have my thread, with a chilled walk with Reg after lunch, hopefully between rain showers downpours! My sewing was interrupted 3 times with parcels being delivered for  Barry. Unfortunately, not just a case of going to the door and bringing them in! Barry, in his wisdom of all things draughty, has sealed up the front door, we have two other entrances, which means a trek round the house to bring in parcels with Reg desperate to see who was at the door, despite the fact that the driver has long gone before we get out there!
Amongst all this 'toing and froing' I had a phone call from my sister-in-law to say my brother had been taken to hospital. He has COPD and has recently needed to use oxygen, which he now has at home, even for a short walk. His breathing had been particularly bad and he felt unwell, he also has a slight heart problem so she called an ambulance. She drove to the hospital as new rules mean she wasn't allowed in the ambulance and spoke to me on her way. When she arrived she was then told she couldn't be with him as they were testing for COVID and until the results in 3-4 hours she wouldn't be allowed in. It fell to me to tell mum which was horrible as I knew she would struggle with the news and no-one would be with her. I had been able to speak to my brother but I didn't tell her how he sounded as I knew it would upset her further. There were many more phone calls throughout the day to SIL, nephews and the like. Unfortunately the test turned out to be positive and so I had to relay that news to mum also. I had been able to speak to him again and his breathing sounded better so I could at least tell her that. Luckily mum hadn't seen him for 11 days and hasn't been unwell so hopefully is safe. She has decided against going to her brother's funeral on Monday, just in case, which then meant more phone calls and a  chat with my daughter who had taken leave to take mum to the funeral. I know mum will be worried sick and it's so hard just being on the end of the phone. I was almost hoarse at the end of the day having done so much more talking than usual! He's being well looked after and pumped full of various drugs so we're thinking positive thoughts. 
On a happier note Barry's parents had been delighted to see him and the cooker is now installed and working. At least there was something good in the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.