Traewick

A shower first thing, and then cleared into a sunny day.  The gentle breeze has picked up slightly tonight.

Up early, and out walkies after breakfast.  I popped along to see Madeline too.  Met up with mam for lunch, at the Cornerstone.  Me and Sammy headed out in the afternoon, and popped by cousin Leona for a cuppa in her garden in Vidlin.  A quiet evening at home, some more walkies, but mostly feet up.

I continued my family history research, and headed out to investigate another family home.  I always assumed granddad Mitchell Arthur's family always came from north Shetland areas, but discovered they were in Lunnasting prior to heading north.  I know little about this house but strangely it was were my 5x great granddad James Arthur was born in 1788, and also my 5x great granny Christina Williamson was born here in 1796.  They married on 28th March 1815, and went on to have nine bairns born here, with one sibling continuing to stay here later.  There is the main house, with what looks like two granny flats joined on at either sides, so possibly three families living here at one point.  Taken at Traewick, Skelberry, Lunnasting.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.