Da Maywick Hoose

A fine calm day, mostly cloudy.  There was a couple of showers at lunchtime, and again this evening. 

Up early, and headed out walkies after breakfast.  I headed down the road for walkies before noon, and caught in showers.  This afternoon I started on my Halloween coffin, a new addition to my collection, and made some gravestones this evening.  Walkies again, and now feet up.  My pub job is now over, the pub sold and new owner's took the keys today, not sure what their plans are.  Another coronavirus case in Shetland, and again it's been associated with international travel.

Another family house, but more recent history with this one.  My granny Margaret moved here with her sister Ruby and mother Betty, about 1948.  They had moved from Unifirth to Orkney and Aberdeen, before returning home.  Later came granddad Mitchell, and then came mam, born inside the house in 1958, the last baby born in Maywick.  Granny, granddad and family abandoned the house in 1973, for a new council house in Sandwick.  It stood well for years, but this last few have been the end of the house, when the roof started to fall in.  Someday, when I'm rich, I will return it to it's former glory.  Taken at the Maywick township.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.