Rabbits and Maple Trees

Today is a much sunnier and brighter day. A day for getting out and about.

After washing the breakfast dishes, which is today’s Blipfoto I did my morning patrol of the Policies and noticed that our Maple tree is quickly shedding leaves.

This Maple was struck by lightening and I am going to have to do some fairly drastic pruning.

There is a young Maple growing well behind the Wheelie Bins which is shown in the extra. It is a volunteer and it has a very straight trunk.

In the next few months I will have to move it to another location. Where to put it will require some thought. Decisions!

There is a beech hedge to plant also formed from Volunteers.

The ground is covered in acorns and beech nuts. The red squirrels are visiting and harvesting food for the winter.  Pheasants are about as are various birds of prey, looking for mice and pigeons.

They are very successful at harvesting the mice. We have had no visitors yet.

My main concern is for the voles that we sometimes glimpse.

Tomorrow and Sunday look like rainy days. I am not waterproof and walking about in cold autumn wind blown rain is very much bottom of my activities list.

The latest issue of the Royal Photographic Societies Magazine has been delivered and this particular issue is full of interesting articles and photographs.

The red squirrels are far too busy to pose for Photographs. That is my excuse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.