Life is a Challenge!

By Honeycombebeach

Photographer at Work

Went to the Salvation Army in Boscombe this morning and was all prepared to use the photograph I took there, but decided I would wait to see if there was a reasonable sunset this evening and use that as my blip, having blipped a sunrise earlier in the week.

Got down to the beach about 3 p.m. and went for a walk on the pier - one side was warm - well warmish - and the other side was really cold because of the easterly wind, but as it was a sunny Sunday, there were a lot of people about - most of them on the sunny side - only the hardy and foolish souls were on the other side, including me!

From about 5 p.m. onwards, the photographers were out in force, looking towards Bournemouth and over the Purbeck Hills to get a good shot of the sunset, which was shaping up very nicely.

Hoping to get my sunset blip, I settled myself in a good spot on the beach, and started shooting. However, I decided that it would be more interesting taking shots of the dogs playing on the beach, and the other photographers around me, mostly men, I might add - and had a few interesting conversations with several of them.

The man in my photograph had obviously come well prepared wearing his wellies so he could get a good position "in" the sea. He told me he lived at Hengistbury Head but didn't come along this beach very often - as we chatted he said I should get myself a tripod and a good DSLR and I would take some really good shots - he had obviously spotted my Panasonic Lumix! I don't think he was being patronising, but just trying to be helpful.

I said I had problems with my wrists and thumbs after many years of typing so I found it difficult to hold a larger camera and he conceded that perhaps a small camera was best for me.

I told him I had had several of my photographs published in the Dorset Echo (the local paper around here) and also had one of my photographs in a book entitled "Dorset - A Photographic Journey in an Olympic Year" - all taken with my little camera! My picture is in the 4th row down and the 3rd from the left - Beach Huts at Hengistbury Head

I explained to him about blipfoto and he seemed quite interested in the concept.

All in all, a very enjoyable afternoon and early evening, but I must admit I was pleased to get out of the cold wind, get home and have a piece of cake and a cup of coffee.

Have a great week everyone!



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.