Rosebud

I'm a very happy bunny.

I lost one of my NAS drives a few months ago containing photos from 2000 to 2013, some of them irreplaceable.  Not a problem, thought I, as the drive should have been set up with RAID mirroring.  Since the error lights indicated that it was the enclosure/controller which had died rather than the disks I duly bought a new enclosure to mount and browse one of the disks using Linux.  Disaster ... according to the penguin, the disk was fine, but it was only one half of a non-mirrored disk array.  Options were to buy another enclosure to mount the other disk, try searching my various other disks for the missing files or regretfully let them go.

In the end a search successfully found all the files up to 2012 (clearly I did have some sort of backup system in place at some point!)  but not 2013.  Then Eureka , today I found the final set of files and now my photo catalogue, according to Lightroom, is complete.  An added benefit is I now know where each file is located, and whether it is backed up or residing on a properly mirrored NAS drive.  I also now have spare disks for future back-ups!

After all this excitement, I wandered into the garden and found the last of the roses, still with a wonderful scent.  This is one of the remaining buds which I cut and bought inside to allow its portrait to be taken using just daylight from a window and a reflector.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.