lrjlo - Suburban Explorer

By lrjlo

Peacock

Today it was sunny when I woke up so I decided to head into London. Whilst on my way I decided today would be a good day to head over to Holland Park as I've read good things about it. I was in search of peacocks in particular. There's a lovely Japanese garden with a pond with lots of koi carp in but unfortunately due to the number of people trying to walk across the flagstone bridge it was anything but peaceful.

I did find a peacock. At first he was sitting on top of a wall in some foliage enjoying looking down on people but eventually he did decide to get down and I got some better shots. The colouring kind of reminds me of yesterday's blip but a very different bird in size and character - he is happy to show off his bright colours and is very tame. It got me to thinking about how generally male birds tend to be the brighter more colourful ones who spruce themselves up to attract females, whereas in human society it is generally women who put more effort into dressing up. I felt a bit sorry for him dragging his huge bundle of tail feathers around when there were no peahens around for him to display to. It reminded me of the train on a wedding dress but this trails behind him all the time.

On my way home I popped into St James's Park and saw a rather clumsy and silly looking Goldeneye which was amusing to watch. I'm home now and rather tired but I get a slight sleep in tomorrow as I've booked the morning off to get involved in something which should produce some interesting photos I can blip tomorrow. Then tomorrow afternoon I'm back at work but work is much easier when I don't work the whole week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.