Thank You For the Days ..

By Fyael

Ghosties and Ghoulies and Lang Leggitie Beasties

Happy Hallowe'en ..... 

The folks at Hornshole (near Hawick, site of a skirmish in 1514, you're never far from a battlefield here) go to some lengths with their Samhain decor.

I must confess I took this nearly two weeks ago, when I first spotted it. 

The intention was to come back and have another go today. However - today has been awful, weatherwise.

 Also,  I am distinctly below par after my sudden encounter with the Old Red Sandstone yesterday, aching all over, and just a little bruised. 

Lastly,  it seems an awful waste of petrol to drive twenty miles just so I can repeat the shot to conform to Blip rules .......

So here are the hanging heads of Hornshole ..... there's a very grisly (and true story) of an incident which happened a few miles from here, when a King of Scotland ordered several troublesome subjects to be hung 'from the living tree'. Apparently that was a much worse fate than being hung from a gallows.  

We live in strange times, but I think things were a lot worse in 1514 ... 

Remembering Admirer, a great spirit.

PS, I'm slowly catching up with all your doings. Bear with me :-)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.