Immersed

The Van Gogh immersion experience in Leicester was due to end tomorrow so I booked a slot for this afternoon.

It was very well done but I felt distanced from it. I think it might have been better if there hadn't been so  many people.

Two young lads gambolling around on the floor completely unsupervised by parents. I found them very distracting.

Given that Van Gogh is noted for his use of colour I found it incomprehensible to learn that he was colour blind. What he saw and what we see are very different things.

Afflicted by mental illness and emotional unfulfilment, does it seem right that his work was not recognised in his lifetime and now earns millions?

Some sayings that impressed me: 'Sadness is for ever,' 'I put my heart and my soul into my work, and have lost my mind in the process,' 'If you truly love Nature, you will find beauty everywhere,' and 'There is nothing more truly artistic than to love people.'

The item missing from the shop at the exit was a book about him.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.