The Long And Winding Road

The road above Gifford, East Lothian about 5pm this afernoon. After a lot of DIY which I've been been avoiding for ages, I got out at 3.30 with the intention to get up to Whiteadder Reservoir. I had a fantastic ride under clear blue skies, passing deep drifts of snow still lying by the road. I met a few walkers, a few cyclists and a few cars, but I pretty much had the place to myself.

Giant Gifford View.

Whizzing down from here in the gloaming, I noticed a sign for Garvald along a road I've not taken before. That turned out to be a fantastic little route, but went up, up, up to start with! I was proper knackered by this time as you might imagine and it was a struggle to stay on the bike - but I did. Phew.

A fantastic afternoon, and the first ride on the new wheels. My road bike is cobbled together from old parts, ebay purchases and a few nice bits and pieces. The wheels were absolutely held together with sellotape and rubber bands, the last straw was when I went to remove the worn-out tyres and a spoke broke. So, I got some Shimano R501 wheels and Schwalbe Lugano 700 x 23c tyres from Merlin Cycles for about £100. What a difference! I felt like I had a hand on my back pushing me along, and the grip on those tiny tyres was amazing. A joy to ride.

I recorded the ride on Strava which shows the map and the height profile. Pretty much straight up and straight down! The route starts at home and ends at Asda, where I stopped for beer essential athletic recovery products ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.