Pétanque .....

..... on Sunday afternoon, at the Village.

This isn’t something I’ve done much of before, but it was great fun with lots of us joining in. It looks like there’ll be more events over the summer.

This morning I went to a Salvation Army meeting in Queenstown and met many people I’d known when I lived here in the past.

The most intriguing meeting was with a chap who had flown a plane that my oldest son & his wife had chartered, so that they could see a friend & me nearing the top of our climb up Mt Aspiring! My son had been very excited about it at the time, and to have timed it so that we were very nearly at the top was incredible.
My end to that story is that it was very windy at the top, the conditions were hard unforgiving ice underfoot, that we had to crampon our way to the top and back climb off again. Do I remember it with pleasure? The best part was getting off again safely. The stupid things we do eh?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.