Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

I've been meaning to blip this book for a while now, but things got in the way. I've asked Macer if it's ok to take a photo of his book, and he's more than ok with it. :)
I liked this. A lot, actually. It's a great story about Macer and his way to Syria, what made him go and his experiences there. Meeting friends, losing friends, fighting and everything in-between. He doesn't describe himself as a hero. Instead it's an honest story about ups and downs in fighting and within himself. It's also a story about the Kurdish people and the democracy they want to create. Not as much as I've wanted, but I've heard the publishers wanted less of that and more of Macer and his experiences. 
And, if you're ever in Uppsala, go visit the Uppsala English Bookshop. It's a real treat! :)
My neighbour upstairs has a visit from her daughter and they've spent most of Sunday morning/before lunch arguing and fighting. The mother has a way of walking very heavy, on her heals, and the daughter has done the same, times 3, during their fight. The china in my cupboards have been rattling and I'm happy all my framed pictures haven't fallen off the walls. There've been violently scraping of furnitures, stomping around, shouting and arguing, slamming the door and shouting outside. At one time I suspected there was throwing of something involved too. So much for a quiet Sunday morning... Even the dog in the upstairs apartment (next to 'the fighters') was barking at it all. I wished I could've done the same as the dog, but as the relationship with my upstairs neighbour is strained as it is (she's the one trowing trash from her dust collector -thingy over the balcony...and other unpleasant things...) I'm not going there... Hopefully there will be more calm now. Fingers crossed, at least!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.