Surprise, Surprise! It

Just when I thought I was going to be ‘Billy no mates’ at coffee this morning, I was saved by the appearance of blippers Magpie and Just Sitting who had made a supreme effort to join me at the early hour of 10am and keep me entertained for an hour and a half. Apart from my family connection with Magpie, I have a shared connection with Just Sitting having both lived in the same town in Lanarkshire once upon a time.

It’s looking very windy and bleak as I write but it was a sunny morning. I just missed the rain which is setting in now as I nipped out to get some wine and brandy. It’s not all for my immediate consumption- well the wine maybe, but the brandy is for the Christmas cakes to drink over the next 6 weeks.

My Grandfather, who disapproved of playing or working on the Sabbath would have been horrified to know that 60 years later his only Granddaughter was out, not only shopping for alcohol on a Sunday, but also enjoying a café visit too. How times have changed for the better in that time. I just remember Sundays being so grim and boring back in the day, filled with Sunday school and visits to elderly Grandparents where children were largely seen but not heard.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.