Halloween 2020

It was a strange day. It was warm, calm and mostly rain free as I trotted down to Princes Street for shopping and a muffin carrying visit to daughter #1 in the gallery, but no sooner had I arrived back home than the wind suddenly picked up, swirling the leaves sky high and rattling them against windows. Then came a shower of heavy rain which moved across the Meadows horizontally driving the air blown leaves before it.
The rain has now stopped but the leaves are racing across the grass like mad things.

The postie rang my bell at lunch time to deliver a parcel from Glasgow daughter. She had sent out 6 such parcels to each of us ‘Stobo Girls’ expecting them to be delivered yesterday to coincide with our Zoom meeting last night, but the postal service is a law unto itself, so we were none the wiser. Poor Lucy she must have been a bit disappointed that her thoughtfulness had not borne fruit.
I will raise my glass to the girls tonight with my ‘Glaswegin’ gin and tonic.

It might be quite a spooky evening as the wind blown leaves tap the windows in a kind of wild frenzy, but at least I know that it’s not the ghoulies and ghosties of Halloween

And Scotland beat Wales at rugby this afternoon for the first time in Wales since 2002

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.