The remains of a Lighterman's cottage

on the side of the river Teign estuary near The Passage House Inn.
Hackney consisted of an inn & hamlet of small cottages occupied by the barges or lighterman who worked the local canals and river. The Passage House Inn getting it's name from the area where travellers would wait to cross at low tide. Not a bad place to live, there are beautiful reed beds, plenty of birds, swans, egrets, gulls, geese among them, then of course there are the changing tides.
I planned to shop at Morrison's this morning, & after last nights announcement from Boris I was expecting it to be heaving, but in fact was pleasantly surprised when I arrived in their car park after filling up with petrol at 9.20am. I asked the member of staff stood outside the entrance if the supermarket was open ... I'm thinking Sunday trading. Obviously not, there were customers coming out having shopped, so off I set. I'm really impressed with their butchery section, great variety of meats seldom seen nowadays, plus being able to buy meat from the butchery counter. I was a happy bunny. 20minutes later I was on my way home. The supermarket car park was busy when I left.
I dropped down to the estuary at Hackney to get a few pics, a dull, mizzly morning, a few locals walking their dogs, an egret working it's way up the estuary stalking fish. I counted 22 swans on a raised grassy bank on  the edge of the mud flats.
A relatively relaxed day. I had another look at yesterdays crossword. JARDINIERE ....thanks to evolybab  I had made a spelling mistake. I did'nt complete it, & have'nt checked the answers yet. I've been uploading images to an October 2020 Fb photo album this afternoon, plus adding new spottings to my Project Noah page
.
Dinner was a mish mash of orts. Roast tomorrow night.

First of November & the Christmas adverts have begun .... BAH HUMBUG!!

Thanks to Marliekse for hosting Derelict Sunday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.