Kipsie

By Kipsie

My hang-out on a damp afternoon

The day started with sunshine breaking through the clouds, & no rain. Yay!! I need to garden for George & Jean before I head off on my hols next Monday, but brekkers first. I picked the last of the fuchsia fruits for my breakfast, tiny, glistening, black berries topping my yogurt & granola.
I spent 4 hours at G & J's in Bovey Tracey. lifting and splitting perennials, moving them around. sweeping up the oak leaves, dead heading. Two chaps arrived wanting to inspect the drains. The road was completely flooded at the entrance to the park. The drains run directly under their property, one drain in the back lawn, the other in the front garden. After fiddling about for about 30minutes they packed up & left. Jean is still poorly, George is still ranting about the neighbour & the boundary hedge. They had a run-in earlier in the week apparently. George "I've never been spoken to like that before in all my 92years". The wife is attempting to keep everyone sweet, but I don't think it's over just yet.
Dropped cream off to Mum on my way through, came away with a tin of butter beans from the neighbour, she does'nt like them. I'm not sure why she had them if she did'nt like them but she has two more tins for me apparently, & Mum found a tin of red kidney beans in the cupboard this morning, which she reckons must be mine as she does'nt like them. Strangely enough I was going to make a veggie & bean cobbler as my main next week when I'm away so very well timed.
Quick lunch then out into the garden, pulled out the nasturtiums, they'd nearly finished and were swamping the perennials beneath. So many seeds everywhere. I've collected a colander full but I bet there are as many left behind. I'll find out next Summer for sure. I planted tulips 'Ballerina', 'Purple Dream', Black Parrot, & Virichic. I mixed them up rather than plant individual varieties. I hope I like them that way. I also planted Nectaroscordum Siculum - Honeybells. I planted up a terracotta bowl with snowdrops, a little pressie for George. I'm going to give Jean a few of the roses I've grown from cuttings for her garden. Then it started damping, time to get in the greenhouse with my coffee. I prepared and planted 80 penstemon cuttings, then ran out of compost, will do more tomorrow.
I made hubby a chicken curry for dinner. It said HOT & SPICY Hot Karahi Cooking Sauce on the jar. I would'nt normally use a ready made sauce but as hubby has been complaining that the curries I've been making have no heat I thought this might "hit" the spot. I added half a teaspoon of very recently roasted & ground red chillies, hot off the plane from Thailand just for good measure. I think it was HOT .. I noticed a lot of mango chutney, plus chopped raw onion, tomato & coriander leaf being eaten possibly to help cool things down. He! he! he!!!! There are 3 more portions, cooling before going in the freezer.
I'm taxi service tonight, just waiting for the call.

Thanks to BikerBear/Anni for hosting

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.