Kipsie

By Kipsie

Nuts

I dropped hubby down to CK to pick up his car, & watch the first half of the England v South Africa rugby match. He came back at half time, we had a hearty breakfast then I started shelling the hazelnuts that I'd foraged while in Torquay with Millie. Time to crack on! S'cuse the pun. It was nearly over before it started .. I caught my thumb in the nutcrackers. Ouch! Of course it would'nt stop bleeding ..  First aid applied I carried on ..... & on .... & on, pieces of shell shooting everywhere, quite a few of them were empty or rotten inside, the smallest nuts had the most kernels, & there was me traipsing all over the countryside with Millie, only to find the best were nearest to base. I finally finished - 842grm once shelled. I'd been standing at the kitchen worktop for about 5 hours .. Then they needed roasting. I split some chestnuts that I'd picked up while looking after Yogi a couple of weeks back. They went in the oven together. 15 minutes later out they came, I shelled the chestnuts, then attempted to remove the skins from the hazelnuts, rubbing them in a teatowel. All the while hubby was sneaking them,  so I hide them in coffee mugs in the kitchen cupboards. The lengths one has to go to. I'm thinking a  nut roast might be on my girlie away days dinner menu.
 Next job, I need to get at my art materials stored under the spare bed, the trouble is the top of the bed is covered with material, & other "stuff". I cleared everything out onto the landing ready for hubby to give me a hand when he came back from watching the footie.
Earlier I'd found some porridge oats in the cupboard so decided to make a tray of fruity flapjacks while I was baking my "special" Waitrose jacket potato .. 2 for £1 .. ridiculous! It was a variety called Nectar, not a variety I'd ever come across before. I would'nt pay the price asked for jacket potatoes. You can usually find  large potatoes in a normal bag. 
Hubby returned, I found exactly what I wanted under the bed, fortunately, packed everything back in place then came down to make dinner ..................
Hubby had curry again with all the trimmings, I had a Nectar baked jacket potato, (that would be an extra £10 on the restaurant price, name dropping the potato variety), with tuna mayo. An easy dinner after a productive day.

Folks think I'm silly going out foraging for nuts, & anything else I come across but it's very satisfying. I've now got enough hazelnuts to keep me stocked up til this time next year.  I've never made a nut roast before but am now thinking I might celebrate my allotment by adding the Turk's Turban squash I grew to my nut roast .. Could be tasty .... could be a disaster, but there is definitely an idea forming in my little head. Poor Josie & Sandy could be unknowing guinea pigs. I'll let you know how it goes. :) Me and my silly ideas.

Thanks to admirer for hosting Silly Saturday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.