Kipsie

By Kipsie

Zippity-do-dah, zippity-day

Got up made coffee, read a few chapters of my book, The Russian Concubine, still early,  sent Jan a link to the wool brand that I'd knitted my snood from. She would like to knit a jacket for her little granddaughter. The wool is chunky like mine but the colours a little brighter, perfect for her project. Then I spotted the bag of hazelnuts that need "processing", shelling & roasting in the oven so that I can use them throughout the next year for my veggie burgers etc. Made a big foraging boob. Did'nt think about it at the time BUT I should have kept the different forages separate so that I would know where the best ones were found, as it is they are all mixed up, the very big ones I can't crack with the nutcrackers, the small nuts have large kernels, many of the others no kernels inside .... I'll know for next time. So far I've shelled a coffee cupful of kernels, only to come home from shopping with Mum to find hubby had tucked into them. Damn! Thought I had a made a good job of hiding them. I mentioned that I'd asked him if we would like to shell them for me last week :- ) He told me he was too lazy ... :- ( Thanks for that.
I took Mum to do her grocery shop, Mum & I normally buy a Danish pastry to have with coffee once we get back to her place. We like the chocolate twists. After the Coop we nipped up to get free range eggs from Pixiewood.  Coffee, Danish & chat, & while chatting I suddenly remembered where I'd put the lace, buttons, heading tape, & ZIPS. Zips for the cushions I was making. Now IF I had'nt had that chat with Mum I would probably have gone out and bought two zips. The 2 zips, lace, & buttons were removed from two bridesmaids dresses I paid 50pence for at a jumble sale in Rewe social club circa 1986. I knew they would come in handy :) I just needed to find the tin they were in. Got home unpacked the shopping, shot upstairs, & there in the cupboard was the old biscuit tin - Zips, lace, Ric Rac braid, ribbon, curtain heading tape. Bingo! I had a glass triangle, that I made back in Thailand. I sat it on top of the zips,  braid, ribbon, label etc. & snapped away. Then I tweaked in Picasa.
A quick cuppa then I made a cushion cover. Finished at cider o'clock. Perfect!

Dinner tonight, lambs kidneys in a tasty onion & mushroom sauce, homegrown skin on boiled spuds, carrots & fine green beans.



Thanks to Ingeborg for hosting Abstract Thursday

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.