Yellow Bird

There was something odd about the way he flew in. Although I can't describe it, the movement caught my eye, and then I noticed the yellow. Let's say it wasn't as fluttery as the little birds that usually scatter around this field. And then in came a second one, less bright, but still an unusual color. I held my breath as I tried to get my camera out, and on, and zoomed and please don't let anyone disturb them, just keep shooting. And then they were gone. I thought with such distinctive markings that it would be a snap to find them in my bird book, but no. Nor could I figure it out online. How many birds can there be with bright yellow shirts and black ties?  So, anybody know what they are? *

Spent the day asking these important questions: If the clock says 3, does that mean it's two? or, wait, is it four? did you change the clock on the stove yet? We just finished dinner and it's only six? It's so dark. What time is it really? 

western meadowlark (Sturnella neglecta)  Thank you, blippers, for putting me on the right track! It's easy to look it up when you know what it is!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.